Historical  Background

SAPA’s establishment was Initiated by Rinah Snesing from Gauteng. Launched 17 July 1995 in Somerset WC and aim-to bring all public school principals under one umbrella to share expertise and support for each other.

  • All provinces were represented except NW because it had not launched. Observer status.
  • SAPA was admitted as member of ICP in 1995.
  • 2007 Dr Chabalala lead a team to meet different Unions
  • Aim-To explain what SAPA was all about and role it seeks to play in developing leaders
  • Team met: SAOU, NAPTOSA & SADTU (Nxesi)
  • Alison succeeded in securing on office for SAPA at University of Pretoria

First Executive-Somerset West: WC – 1995

  • President: Rinah Snesing (Gauteng)
  • Deputy President: Nat Bongo (Western Cape)
  • Secretary: Mervin Caroline (Western Cape)
  • Treasurer: Aboah Moshe (Gauteng)
  • Editor: Daphney Folliot (Eastern Cape)
  • NEC: 2 Rep/Province

Second Executive-Pietersburg Conference – 1997

  • President : Roy Gordon (Free State)
  • Deputy President: BJ Hlengane (Limpopo)
  • Secretary: Mervin Caroline (Western Cape)
  • Treasurer: Wiston Dlodla (Kwazulu Natal)
  • Editor: Daphney Folliot (Eastern Cape)

3rd  Executive-University of Western Cape – 2001

  • President : Dr RW Chabalala (Limpopo)
  • Deputy President: Roy Gordons (Free State)
  • Secretary: Allen Clarke (Western Cape)
  • Treasurer: Blackie Swart (Free State)
  • Editor: Daphney Folliot (Eastern Cape)
  • PRO: Anthia Cereto (Gauteng)